Ways to kill time to keep from killing myself.

Posted on Updated on

Did the title of this post put you in a somber mood? Well fret not. I have no intent to leave this Earthly realm anytime soon. My eldest child and only son has sickle cell disease. We discovered this illness when he was just 3 years old. Why so late and not at birth? I’ll save that for another post. ‘Tre’ had been complaining of chest pains off and on for several hours. As the pain progressed and his description of how he felt grew pretty frightening, I knew it was time to take home care to another level. Mere minutes had passed when my nemesis boredom came creeping in. Sitting. Waiting. Watching. Every sense heightened. Hospital sights and sounds. Foot tapping. Thumb twiddling. Bored outta my mind. If a cure didn’t present itself soon, at least I was in the ER! Death by boredom. Clean up on aisle 3. If you should find yourself in my recent predicament, bored out of your mind and dieing for a way to kill time to keep from killing yourself as you WAIT in the ER…

  • Read
  • Write
  • Count the tiles on the ceiling of your cell, er um uh, waiting room
  • Count the tiles on the floor of said room
  • Meditate
  • Nap
  • Pray
  • Play the drums on the nearest counter with a pair of tongue depressors
  • Update your status at Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn…
  • Check and respond to emails
  • Search engine look up something random like ‘onomatopoeia

time

I’d love a few suggestions. What do you do to pass the time? By the way, ‘Tre’ is just fine. He and I both made it out alive. Unscathed from our latest venture into boredom at the ER!

Connect with the CEO of FreedomInk Publishing

http://www.freedomink365.com/about_the_publisher

Leave a Reply

