The Father, The Son & The Holy Book Banners. Who made you boss?

Posted on Updated on

Fear. Fear of the unknown. Fear of that which is misunderstood. Power. Power to censor, challenge, ban… From a parental point of view, I can understand the desire to want to shelter our children from violence, offensive language & explicit sexual content, be they seen in the real world, viewed on television, or read in a book. But as a parent I must be responsible and set restrictive boundaries within my own home and not expect some government board to act as judge and jury and decide which books will line the shelves in my small hometown library, the bookstores of the surrounding counties, the literature allowed into each state. Personally, I like to believe I’ve set a positive example in my own home and in the lives of my children. As they gradually venture from beneath my wings and out into the world more and more on their own, I hope that I have equipped them with a self censoring tool to know that which is okay for them to immerse themselves in. As they mature mentally and physically, these boundaries are expanded until the point of adulthood where they can make their own choices of what to partake in! No book should be banned. Anywhere! Ever… If I may be a bit biased here… The United States is the most awesomest place in the whole wide world. I mean think about it. The Land of The Free and Home of The Brave. Certain liberties have been allotted to us upon birth simply due to the place fate saw fit for us to be born. Destiny! Of all the places. Continents & other countries. I’m an American citizen. So you have to understand my disappointment when I learn mine and that of my children’s rights have not only been breached but terminated. What is that the 1st Amendment states?

– The First Amendment (Amendment I) to the United States Constitution prohibits the making of any law respecting an establishment of religion, impeding the free exercise of religion, abridging the freedom of speech, infringing on the freedom of the press, interfering with the right to peaceably assemble or prohibiting the petitioning for a governmental redress of grievances. It was adopted on December 15, 1791, as one of the ten amendments that comprise the Bill of Rights.  Check it out { http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/First_Amendment_to_the_United_States_Constitution }.

Rewind to the part they promise no prohibition, no infringement on the freedom of the press. This means an Author has the right to write and a Reader has every right to read it! Pretty simple really. So with that said, I proudly observe, celebrate and support Banned Book Week!

Image“A society will not stand for their rights to be mocked and suppressed for long. Either they will crumble under the tyranny or they will revolt.” ~Katandra Shanel Jackson
#NoMoreBannedBooks @FreedomInk365

Check us out. The Little Publishing House with the Big Heart!

http://www.freedomink365.com

Leave a Reply

