Sickle Cell In My Home

Posted on Updated on

What is Sickle Cell Disease? Without looking up some fancy, smancy, scientific, confusing definition, I’ll tell you what I understand this disease to be. Normal blood cells flow through our veins round in shape and full of oxygen– happy! Sickle (blood) cells don’t flow so easily through our veins in a sickle or “V” shape and lack the proper nutrients and oxygen– sad! The disease is hereditary meaning that it passes from parent to child. But it’s kind of like a gamble. A parent with the disease or a trait of the disease has a 25%, 50%, 75%, 100% chance of passing the mutated gene. Two parents with the disease or a trait of the disease heightens the likelihood of children being born with the disease or the trait. First seen as a way to protect the body from being plagued with Malaria, the disease can be traced back to certain areas of the World. Now take a peek into my humble abode…

kat n tre

September may be Sickle Cell Disease Awareness Month to the rest of the World, but to me, it’s just another 30 days in our home. We’ve been aware of this hereditary disease,  everyday of our lives for the past 14 years. My eldest child was born with Sickle Cell Disease. Today he is 17 years old. So why have we only been aware for the past 14 years? The Sickle Cell screening was not administered in the hospital the year that my son was born! It wasn’t until my son was 3 years old and my ex husband and I were expecting another child that we first found out that our first born was born with this disease. {We found out after a routine Health Dept. check up. The lead screening revealed my son’s hemoglobin to be very low. We were sent to special doctors–Hematologist/Oncologist} We had no idea how it happened. What it was. Why anyone hadn’t told us. What to do next. What about the baby on the way. The world of Sickle Cell Disease was foreign and new to us. But being the type of person that I am, a lifelong, avid learner of things… I made it my mission to gather as much information as I could about this disease that was running loose in my son’s veins! And gather I did. I learned all that I could. I asked question after annoying question. I read books. I did online research. Not only did I learn, I taught my son. The names of the medicines, the types of doctors, the possible treatments and cures, medical terminology. Sickle Cell Disease was no longer some foreign guest in our home. This disease resides with us! So we’ve learned not how to tolerate, but how to live with it. There are several types of Sickle Cell Disease. Some types are more severe than others. My son has Sickle Cell Disease SC.

Okay call me a new school, radical, new age kind of Momma! I believe that illness is just as much a physical thing as it is a mental thing. From a very young age, both my firstborn and myself, I’ve never been the doting type! Children are resilient! This is the way that I have raised all of my children. What doesn’t kill them, Creator I pray, makes them stronger. My son’s grandparents would totally freak out when a sickle crisis would strike. But I refused to be the face of absolute resolve. Instead, I presented a strong homefront! One that my son would no doubt need when he would be at his sickest. To date, Jermaine Trevon has suffered multiple sickle cell crisis…  Too many to count. He has had a blood transfusion. His gall bladder removed. Spleen sequestration. Acute chest pain (those are very very very bad). Blood clots, and has had to be on thinner medication. I’ve given pills, administered abdominal injections, sat bedside at home and hospital (for weeks at a time). And even at times when I was a mess inside over how much pain my son was in or the danger that threatened his life, I remained calm on the outside. My eldest child has taken my lead. Now when he gets sick, he remains calm. He knows what to do. Stay hydrated. Plenty of rest. Mental and physical wellness are just as important as medication. And he does self medicate. Knowing which pills to take and how often. We utilize the hospital as a last resort. We’ve learned to live with this disease.  But the thing about that thing that is no longer some foreign stranger, come to take up residency and drain the life out of our home… We run it, Sickle Cell Disease does not run us!

Check out these sites for more information about Sickle Cell Disease—> http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sickle-cell_disease —>http://bit.ly/1rmKuMS —> http://www.webmd.com/a-to-z-guides/sickle-cell-disease-topic-overview

sickle

 

Those ‘sickled’ cells don’t stand a chance in this house. We go to war!! #SOS my son is a #SoldierOfSicklecelldisease

CEO at FreedomInk Publishing, Katandra Jackson Nunnally

http://www.freedomink365.com/about_the_publisher

2 thoughts on “Sickle Cell In My Home

    […] September is also Sickle Cell Awareness Month. This disease is close to my own home as I am a carrier of the trait, my ex-husband is a carrier of the trait and my eldest child was born with the disease. For African Americans looking to bring children into the World, I highly recommend testing. They do a newborn test at the hospital now which is routine. July 1997, no one told us. It wasn’t until we were expecting a 2nd child that we found out. Parents, know your status before deciding to procreate! I wouldn’t wish this illness on any child. I intend to shed light on this arena of my son’s life in the upcoming memoir, ‘Can’t Raise No Man’. Check out my CEO blog where I post randomness… Learn about Sickle Cell Disease https://freedomink365ceo.wordpress.com/2014/09/03/sickle-cell-in-my-home/ […]

    freedomink365ceo responded:
    June 20, 2015 at 3:10 pm

    Reblogged this on CEO at FreedomInk Publishing and commented:

    June 19 is World Sickle Cell Day.

Leave a Reply

