Day 4 of Banned Books Week

Posted on

By now most of you know me. I’m the one going on and on about books. Which books are (in my opinion) great reads. The books I’m reading. FreeedomInk and the books I’m writing, editing, publishing & promoting! It’s no wonder that I’m not only an active participant in literary events, sometimes I feel the community is void of such cultural experiences, so I  oftentimes create my own literary events! The end of September has been crazy busy. With the end of one event, the start of another event & the last minute inclusion  of yet one more. This is FreedomInk’s 3rd year hosting the Reading Is  Retro Summer Challenge. An event created by yours truly to encourage those around me to read during the summer months. The challenge is to read 10 books in 13 weeks. The event begins on the first day and ends on the last day of summer. The last day of summer incidentally is the first day of Banned Books Week. Banned Books Week is a literary event that celebrates the freedom to read. In case you didn’t know, there are some close minded folks in the world that have taken it upon themselves to not only challenge the presence of some books in their hometown, they are downright banning them. Learn more here http://www.bannedbooksweek.org/

As a way for me to keep the literary momentum going in my little world,  I’ve extended the summer event to include Banned Books Week and I’ve created a new event… Thirty Minutes {Facebook/Worldwide event, https://www.facebook.com/events/801325546558063/852666671423950} was created after I discovered some unsettling and rather startling facts about the amount of time we are actively reading for enjoyment! A recent study shows that those within my age bracket (25-34) are only reading about 7.8 minutes daily. Gasp! Imagine my surprise. The stats are atrocious and I am ashamed!http://mic.com/articles/91697/you-ll-be-shocked-at-how-much-time-young-people-spend-reading-each-day  But instead of accepting these facts, I’ve decided that every one person truly does make a difference. So here I am, once again going on and on about books!

As far as I’m concerned, I read about 1/2 the designated books to be read during the summer challenge https://www.facebook.com/events/1436968713219460/ . I’m reading ‘The Bluest Eye’ by Toni  Morrison during Banned Books Week and I have at least 2 other books on standby during the newest literary event. I hereby do commit to read for AT LEAST 30 minutes daily!

30minCEO at FreedomInk Publishing< Katandra Jackson Nunnally

http://www.freedomink365.com/about_the_publisher

Leave a Reply

