Derailed

Posted on Updated on

tracks

Please don’t think the title of this blog entry cruel. By the time you reach the end of this tale you’ll see why I’m begging your forgiveness. I’m not some bitter insensitive bitch. I just didn’t know what else I’d title this update. One night last summer I was up late. Reading. As usual. Everyone in the house was asleep. All was well within my world. I was at peace. I became totally engrossed in the fictitious story that lay within my hands. Then it happened. The world shook. Everything. For just a brief moment. And in that moment my life derailed. I had no idea how to explain the phenomena. I was afraid. I woke everyone from their slumber. I had to know. Did they feel that. The entire house shake. They each looked at me like I had finally lost it. Delusional. Too many late nights. I noted the time. Well beyond midnight. Maybe I had imagined it. Each family member returned to their own dreams. I lay awake until I couldn’t hold my eyes open any longer. Upon waking the next day, my mobile device was chiming like crazy. The incessant singsong was like the chirping of a deranged aviary. I wasn’t the only one that had lost it. So I’m checking my Facebook newsfeed and all I see are my cousins. Every female born Jackson. My father’s side of the family. There was so much shock, hurt, pain in those posted words. There was an undertone of total disbelief. The only thing I knew to do was call my grandmother. She confirmed the nightmare I could have never imagined. My younger cousin by just a few short years, had been killed. Hit by a train. Accident? I’m not certain if the family ever found out or if we’ll ever know. I do know this though. Marcus’ departure from this world left a gaping hole in the hearts of us all. My grandmother told me that she received the call that informed her of my cousins death at the exact same time my world shook…

*I’m not really a fan of anything scary. I steer clear of scary movies, books. I’m not a fan of things that go bump in the night. I have really bad nightmares. The wake up, screaming, crying, too afraid to go back to sleep kind of nightmares! So when Mellie Miller set the criteria for this years’ All Hallow Eve Blog Hop, I had no idea what scary tale I’d tell. Please stop by these other blogs and check out the ghost stories the other participants are sharing!

All Hallows Eve Blog Hop at Facebook—> https://www.facebook.com/events/302040066666646/

Mellie Miller—> http://melliemiller.com/

CEO at FreedomInk Publishing, Katandra Jackson Nunnally

http://www.freedomink365.com/about_the_publisher

2 thoughts on “Derailed

    MarlaCrews said:
    October 31, 2014 at 4:58 pm

    I’ve had a similar experience a few times, but it was a sudden, overwhelming urge to call someone or to hunt down a picture.

    meleigh53 said:
    October 31, 2014 at 7:27 pm

    Some people in our family have had similar experiences. Sorry for your loss. No matter how long or short a time it has been, the hurt continues.

Leave a Reply

