4 things you must do great, in order to be a good writer…

Posted on Updated on

I’m certain that there is a lot of advice out there from the seasoned veterans of the Author world. I’m certain that newbies have their fair share of advice as well. I consider myself to be a fence straddler. I’m somewhere in the middle of both worlds. Having recently released my  6th published book {See Amazon, Carnal Sobriety by Katandra Shanel Jackson  http://amzn.com/0989678660 } I feel that I am equipped to at least give my opinion on the matter. So here goes…

4 things you must do great, in order to be a good writer…

  • Number 1- You must be a great listener. Take it all in. Immerse yourself in the life that is happening all around you. The conversations of others are laced with emotions, pride, anger, happiness, malice. Listen for personality quirks and preferences. Listen to your friends and family now and who knows, you may have a cornucopia of the bits and piece that will make up your leading character in that bestseller book you’re no doubt composing.
  • Number 2- You must be a great reader. And don’t just read a little. Read a lot. Reading more allows you to determine the type of books you like and may even help you decide which books you’ll write. Each Authors voice can be heard loud and clear, even in fiction. Read more and discover the voice you’ll like to lend to the world.
  • Number 3- You must be a great scribe. I know what you’re thinking. One of the things that you need to do great in order to be a good writer is to be a great scribe. Quite the contradiction I know. But hear me out. One of the things I do daily is write write write! Blog entries, social media status updates, in my many journals, as I type the next chapter of my current WIP (work in progress), on the family’s whiteboard {See Ikea MÅLA, The easel has a whiteboard on one side and a blackboard on the other. http://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/50021076/ }.
  • Number 4- you must be a great citizen of the world. Don’t just reside on this planet. Too many inhabitants are already doing that. You’ve gotta be awake and fully alive!! Soak it all in. Absorb every facet. Then everything you smell, hear, taste, touch, feel, go forth and pen! Happy writing =)

Connect with the CEO of FreedomInk Publishing

http://www.freedomink365.com/about_the_publisher

Leave a Reply

